Ice Cream Cake

Hello again Dear Readers!

Today is my birthday! To celebrate, I made an ice cream cake, and I thought I’d share the recipe with you. Ice cream cakes have been a birthday staple in my house for as long as I can remember – well, that and Spumoni Cake, but that’s a recipe for another day. Oh, and Martian Cake, too!

Anyways, we used to get our cakes from Dairy Queen, until my mother thought of a way to make one ourselves. The first attempt was simple – a chocolate bunt cake with ice cream and raspberry jam in the center. We used the carved out middle to make a trifle – double dessert!

The second one is the one I came up with and still use today. Instead of the bunt pan or glass casserole we used to use, I use a spring form pan lined with parchment paper. This allows me to lift the finished ice cream cake out and frost it if I want to. Because it’s my birthday, I didn’t frost this one, but I did frost my sister’s cake in March. It’s all up to you, dear reader.

This cake is really fun to make, and you can use any flavor ice cream you want! My sister and I decided on Spumoni and Chocolate Peanut Butter ice creams for my birthday cake this year. If you haven’t had spumoni ice cream, you are missing out. It’s like Neapolitan, only about twenty times better. Instead of vanilla and strawberry, spumoni ice cream has pistachio and cherry layers. It’s delicious!

For the fudge layer, I use a store bought hot fudge sauce (Gasp!), but you could use an easily spreadable homemade recipe if you’d like.

 

Homemade Ice Cream Cake

You will need:

1 1.5 quart container Vanilla Bean Ice Cream (or flavor of your choice)

1 1.5 quart container Chocolate Ice Cream (or flavor of your choice)

2 cups Hot Fudge Sauce

1 package Oreo Cookies

1 cup Caramel Sauce (optional)

Procedure:

  1. Prepare a 9 inch Spring Form Pan by lining with Parchment Paper. Make sure that the paper comes up over the edges of the pan. This will be important later.
  2. Let your first container of ice cream thaw for five minutes. If you’re going for a Dairy Queen type cake, this would be the chocolate ice cream. For this cake, I used Chocolate Peanut Butter.
  3. Once the ice cream is fairly soft, use a large spoon to spread the ice cream in an even layer across the bottom of the pan. The easiest way to do this is to put big chunks down and mash them together.
  4. Return the pan to the freezer for at least one hour.
  5. While the ice cream is refreezing, scrape the white filling out of the oreos. Place cookies in a bag and smash with a rolling pin until they are at a consistency you like. I like big chunks, so I only mash a couple of times.  Set smashed cookies aside.
  6. Warm the hot fudge sauce in the microwave. Thirty seconds to a minute should be good. Set your second ice cream out to thaw for five minutes. If you’re doing this Dairy Queen Style, a nice vanilla bean ice cream works well. I used Spumoni ice cream for this layer.
  7. Spread an even layer of smashed cookies across the first layer of your cake. Next, take your hot fudge sauce and pour or spoon across the cookies. Use a spatula or large spoon to spread it across the cake.
  8. Using the same method as before, spread your second layer of ice cream across the top of the cake. When finished, cover with plastic wrap. If you’d like to smooth out the top, this is a good time to mash the ice cream down without getting your hands dirty.
  9. Freeze for at least two hours before serving.
  10. Enjoy!

Optional:

If you’d like to frost your cake, you can use cool whip or stabilized homemade whipped cream. You can also drizzle caramel sauce across the top.

Leave a Reply

